[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/3/ - 3DCG

View post   

File: 908 KB, 1955x1235, IMG_5394.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
982416 No.982416 [Reply] [Original]

I’m new to sculpting. What tips should I know to help me better understand and visualize the things I want to make?

>> No.982419

ALL /beg/ questions belong in /beg/

>> No.982421
File: 141 KB, 1955x1235, negativeshape.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>982416
>What tips should I know to help me better understand and visualize the things I want to make

When you're observing a reference of something and making judgement about the spatial relationship between features,
pay careful attention not just to how the thing you are making line up to what's adjacent locally but look at the distance from that feature
to several landmarks around your subject. Finding out that something is off in your representation is easier if you compare it to the whole.

When you consider a curve or an outline of a feature don't just consider the shape of the feature itself but consider the shape of the outline
itself from the negative empty space side. Your brain has numerous preconceptions what a human is supposed to look like, but if you abstract the
shape from the negative side it is easier to see it for the shape as it actually exist in your reference.

That later is a quick trick to increase your accuracy making your eye measurements much more precise by simply doubling the data you're considering.

Sometimes your mind get tired and you need to walk away from a piece to see it with fresh eyes, but if you are under time constraints and need to judge
your shape more accuratly right now you can do things like flip the canvas upside down, invert the colors etc to stop seeing the surface as a familiar face
and view it more as raw geometry.